Image Source:


The School of Natural Medicine at the University of the Western Cape offers a Bachelors Degree in Phytotherapy. The qualification consists of two parts. First, the three year degree B.Sc Complementary Health Science, followed by the two year Bachelor of Complementary Medicine degree specializing in Phytotherapy.

Graduates will be able to register with the Allied Health Professions Council of South Africa (AHPCSA) in order to practice legally, within scope of practice for Phytotherapy.

The AHPCSA is a statutory body established in term of the Allied Health Professions Act, 63 of 1982 (The Act) in order to control all allied health professions, which includes Ayurveda, Chinese Medicine and Acupuncture, Chiropractic, Homoeopathy, Naturopathy, Osteopathy, Phytotherapy, Therapeutic Aromatherapy, Therapeutic Massage Therapy, Therapeutic Reflexology and Unani-Tibb.

Visit these links for more detailed information: